Archive for

Futaba town office returns to Fukushima Pref. , fukushima minpo, 6/18/13

The Futaba municipal government held a ceremony on June 17 to mark the opening of a new office in the city of Iwaki, Fukushima Prefecture.
All the town’s residents have evacuated since the outbreak of the nuclear disaster in March 2011 at the Fukushima Daiichi power plant. It took two years and three months for the town government to return to its home prefecture.
The town government built a temporary office in Iwaki and moved the functions of the town office there from the city of Kazo, Saitama Prefecture, just north of Tokyo.
It was the fourth time for the Futaba town government to move its office since the outbreak of the nuclear disaster.
In a speech at the opening ceremony, Futaba Mayor Shiro Izawa said the town government and residents face various tasks, such as radioactivity decontamination work, compensation for damage from the nuclear disaster and the reopening of schools.
Izawa said he will settle the problems one by one steadily and that the municipal government’s Iwaki office will be a key foothold for Futaba’s reconstruction.
Of the town government’s 89 staffers, 67 are based at the Iwaki office. The town government will make its office in Kazo a Saitama branch office, and open a new branch in the city of Koriyama, Fukushima Prefecture. Eleven officials will be assigned to each of the two branch offices.
According to the Futaba municipal government, 3,783 Futaba residents have evacuated within Fukushima Prefecture, while 3,131 have evacuated outside the prefecture.
After the outbreak of the nuclear disaster, the Futaba town government moved its office to the town of Kawamata, Fukushima Prefecture, the city of Saitama, capital of Saitama Prefecture, and the city of Kazo.


on twitter