fukushima, futaba, jiji press, namie, okuma, tomioka

4 Evacuated Fukushima Municipalities Eye “Temporary Towns”, jiji, 4/16/12

   Fukushima, April 16 (Jiji Press)–Officials of four evacuated towns in Fukushima Prefecture near the crippled nuclear power plant are planning to create temporary towns to keep local communities alive elsewhere in the northeastern prefecture.

   The four municipalities are Okuma, Namie, Futaba and Tomioka. Those towns are entirely or mostly within the no-go zone designated by the central government due to the nuclear crisis caused by Tokyo Electric Power Co.’s <9501> Fukushima No. 1 power plant, which was severely damaged by the earthquake and tsunami on March 11 last year.

Town officials have come up with “temporary town” initiatives for fears that local communities in areas with high radiation levels will disappear, as residents may have to stay out of the areas for a long period after the existing evacuation zones are realigned.
The officials are now trying to give shape to the ideas of creating areas that bring together town halls, schools and commerce facilities such as shops and restaurants.
“I would be delighted if my family can live together again,” said a housewife from Okuma whose family members have evacuated to separate places.


About liz

from the u.s., recently moved from kobe to sendai, japan, researching community-based housing recovery after disaster.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


on twitter

%d bloggers like this: